Skip to content

my piano students…

December 6, 2007

my piano students totally bring me joy. what better job than to sit and listen to music…offer my advice when something sounds “off” and encourage young talent to love music!
images.jpg
I LOVE MY JOB….

i thought i’d share some quotes i’ve gathered while sitting in my “teachers” chair.

* “mrs. hill, your piano has the same number of black notes that mine does”

* …as i’m counting along to a student playing – “you’re distracting me”

* “are you going to sing along or what?”

* “i played this so much better at home”

* after correcting a counting issue…”i know what it’s supposed to sound like but i like it my way better”…

* “does my mom pay you to hear me play?”

* “am i annoying you?” me…”no, why do you ask?” student…”my mom says i’m very annoying” (i won’t give any names 🙂 )

* “why do you say D – 2?” me…because that’s a D and it gets 2 counts.
“then why don’t you say it all the time?” me…”well some notes get different counts.” “doesn’t that just confuse all the musicians?” me….”just the ones working to figure it all out”

* me…”let’s try this song pretending your thumbs are glued to the piano” “that’s the most ridiculous thing anyone’s ever said to me”

there’s more to share someday…right now i have to jet off to school and celebrate “canada day” with the 6th graders. weird huh?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kimfromkansas permalink
    December 7, 2007 7:49 am

    Enjoyed those.

    FYI, I remember learning the Canadian national anthem in elementary school, but of course, where I grew up we bordered Canada and also were the “Peace Garden State”.

  2. December 7, 2007 5:36 pm

    Oh, Calana. Thanks for the laugh. 🙂

  3. chill24 permalink
    December 7, 2007 6:15 pm

    there are times i have to keep a straight face when some of my littler students have suggestions or comments about music (or my style of teaching). this is truly a FUN FUN FUN job!

Leave a comment